The culture behind a Megazord: criticizing Power Rangers, like a punching bag

29 Lug

Welcome back to my blog.

What do I say every time? I can’t criticize Power Rangers because I’m not in the demographic intended for this show, so why on Earth should they care about that?

However, I notice that many fans tend to criticize. A lot.

And I think I can consider this as “a punching bag”.

What am I talking about?

Well, do you have that something about pop culture that makes you so angry you need to rant for hours, only to realize “I just wasted my time arguing with someone about something so trivial” and have a normal behavor on anything, even concentrating on productive things?

For instance, I love to use the movie Suicide Squad for that. I hate that movie so much it’s actually a relief, because I keep arguing about it for a lot so that I use my anger on something frivolous and, if I have to do something “serious” like studying or my chores, I’m more relaxed and concentrated. And, when you study East Asian languages and cultures, relax and concentration are vital!

I think that you could use Power Rangers for that, and it’s so much better, because, being a kid show, you may spend a lot of time arguing about how bad Super Megaforce is, only to see yourself thinking “I’m an adult that is whining about something for 8-year-olds”, and you even feel sad. Sure, sadness and relax aren’t exactly the same thing, but at least they both make you stop talking about it and think about something else.

Don’t worry, guys: a punching bag like this is actually useful, especially if you end up doing something good.

Oh, right: yesterday, I said I was going to write about the Odagiri effect, but I had this one ready to publish, so here we go. If I don’t have another idea coming up to my mind, that’ll be tomorrow’s post.

See you, next time, here, on the Empty Blog!

Una Risposta to “The culture behind a Megazord: criticizing Power Rangers, like a punching bag”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The culture behind a Megazord: an entire month with this series! | Il blog vuoto - 31 luglio 2017

    […] The culture behind a Megazord: criticizing Power Rangers, like a punching bag […]

Rispondi

