The culture behind a Megazord: this is where I draw the line

17 Lug

Welcome back to my blog.

So, the Power Rangers movie bombed in Japan as well, huh?

And to think that us fans almost took it for granted that it was going to be a success in East Asia.

Now, this article could talk about how the release dates were an issue (not only in some countries it came out weeks later, but in China it arrived in May and in Japan just now, meaning that international fans did have the time to pirate it, especially considering it came out on DVD before the Japanese release). Or, I could mention stuff like “it shouldn’t have been released against Beauty and the Beast” (though I find it funny that everyone criticizes Disney for remaking its classic movies in live-actions but they’re always #1 at the box office).

However, that’s not going to be my topic for today. Instead, I want to ask: why is it so difficult for Power Rangers to gain a “nostalgia audience” when literally everything from the 1990s’ pop culture is being brought back or revived in some form?

Here are my answer, and remember that it’s just a personal opinion.

I was born in 1993, so I’m partially in the “generation” who can’t stop talking about the ’90s on the internet, especially if this decade equals “my childhood!”. As part of this, everything that was big back then is being revived, either with continuations (like X-Files), reboots (like the ones Cartoon Network is making) and other stuff.

Even things that we’ve enjoyed as kids now have an adult fandom (think about Pokémon) who doesn’t even consider them “just for kids” anymore.

Therefore, it’s pretty normal to discuss (and even whine) about a childhood cartoon even if you’re in your 20s or 30s.

And yet, Power Rangers doesn’t seem to gain a new audience that would make it part of “the great part of the ’90s that should be back”. And not for lack of trying, with comic books, videogames and movies.

Well, my opinion is that Power Rangers is what makes “’90s kids” draw the line, what makes them say “okay, that can stay in my childhood”. The reason?

It’s simple: Power Rangers has always been for kids and for kids only.

There isn’t that much that would make you think “see? You can enjoy it as an adult too” like classic Cartoon Network shows like Johnny Bravo or Dexter’s Laboratory.

Hold on: actually, a couple of things do exist, but with a twist.

The first is the manual making of the suits and the sets, with lots of practical effects used in a similar way as they did for the early Godzilla films back then.

The second is the cultural references you can find every now and then, which is actually what makes me start this series off.

However, both of those things happen thanks to Sentai footage, so it’s not even original. Of course, Super Sentai is something for kids but that you can easily enjoy as an adult for this stuff, but Power Rangers isn’t.

This is something for kids and for kids only, and a non fan would even feel “sad” or think “why the hell did I watch this when I was little?”. Okay, there have been season that tried to appeal towards older audiences like SPD and RPM, but those are rare pearls, and non-fans only seem to see the original, as if nothing happened after Mighty Morphin’.

Therefore, if they’re just a childhood product, leaving it behind is like when you stop playing with your favourite toys because you’ve grown up. Power Rangers is where people draw the line between “oh, you still love ’90s things? Cool” and “hold on, you still watch THIS? Man, that’s sad!”.

If I agree with my own opinion? Well, I’m a tokusatsu fan, so of course I didn’t draw my line, but apparently the general public does, and that’s what should matter.

I don’t think that Power Rangers will ever gain a good audience, if a Hollywood blockbuster wasn’t enough, so I wonder if they should still try.

See you, next time, here, on the Empty Blog!

8 Risposte to “The culture behind a Megazord: this is where I draw the line”

  1. Amnesic Petrichor 18 luglio 2017 a 7:00 pm #

    I have never liked Power Rangers, but I think that those who really liked them back there, in the 90s, are still watching them. For example when I was a little kid I used to watch Teen Titans all the times and today I’m still watching them (not the new ones, but the old ones). If you really are a fan, you never stop watching the things you like. What do you think about it?

    • ilblogvuoto 18 luglio 2017 a 8:42 pm #

      Hi, I have to admit I thought no one would have read this article, especially considering it didn’t come as I had it in mind.
      I have to admit I have “returned” to Power Rangers in 2013, at 20, after stopping at 13.
      However, I still talk about NON-fans who still enjoy EVERYTHING from the ’90s. As I say in the article, I think Power Rangers makes them draw the line, as they think “No, there should be a limit, and it’s teenage guys wearing coloured spandex while fighting cheesy monsters and shouting every time”

    • ilblogvuoto 18 luglio 2017 a 8:45 pm #

      Ehi, leggevo dal tuo blog che anche tu sei italiano. Posso chiedere come hai trovato il mio blog?

      • Amnesic Petrichor 19 luglio 2017 a 6:49 am #

        Ehm non lo so bene nemmeno io… 😓 Perché è strano?

      • ilblogvuoto 19 luglio 2017 a 10:06 am #

        Perché difficilmente condivido i miei articoli in italiano, quindi quando nuovi blogger italiani mi seguono mi stupisco sempre.

      • Amnesic Petrichor 19 luglio 2017 a 10:27 am #

        Molti sanno l’inglese è una lingua internazionale 🙂

      • ilblogvuoto 19 luglio 2017 a 3:07 pm #

        Beh, spero comunque che la tua capatina qui sul mio blog sia stata di tuo gradimento.

      • Amnesic Petrichor 20 luglio 2017 a 8:52 am #

        Sì sì grazie 🙂

Rispondi

