The culture behind a Megazord: when I learned about Red with AkaRanger

4 Lug

Welcome back to my blog.

In this short “The culture behind a Megazord”, I wanted to write about back when, five years ago, I was attending my first Japanese lesson.

The teacher, a woman from Tokyo, started showing us some basic words, and she ended up talking about colours. The first one was “red”.

The word was Aka.

Now, in 2012 I wasn’t as much of a tokusatsu fan as I am now: I barely even knew it existed. However, I already watched the famous “Red Rangers roll call” from Gaoranger VS Super Sentai, and I remember seeing that the original one was Akaranger.

I supposed it was based on the English word “aka”, meaning “also known as”, but then, I figured out it simply meant red.

I was so glad to have found out, and it was a nice foreshadowing, considering I would have started watching Super Sentai the next semester.

See you, next time, here, on the Empty Blog!

Una Risposta to “The culture behind a Megazord: when I learned about Red with AkaRanger”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The culture behind a Megazord: an entire month with this series! | Il blog vuoto - 31 luglio 2017

    […] The culture behind a Megazord: when I learned about Red with AkaRanger […]

Rispondi

