Toei Universe: My first “Super Hero Time”

9 Mar

Welcome back to my blog.

You will read this article tomorrow, but I’m about to do something for the first time in 4 years of being a tokusatsu fan: catching up on both the current Rider and the current Sentai for the first time.

In fact, I will watch the latest episodes of Kyuuranger and Ex-Aid as if I was watching the “Super Hero Time” block, as this is the first time I’m invested in watching both the current seasons of those franchises.

Okay, I just watched episode 4 of Kyuuranger. Initially, I was a bit “let down” with them coming to Earth, especially when they treated it as if they didn’t knew aboiut it. However, it makes sense, as they have to save the universe, so our planet would be something peripheral.

Raptor got her personal episode, and they even used the “momo” pun, as pink litrally means “peach colour” in Japanese. Her goal to make the dream of joining the Kyuurangers came true, and I loved Lucky’s rant about the Earthlings trying to stop him. Living without dreams is like not living at all.

Overall, it’s a nice episode, although I still feel like everything is a bit “rushed” on Kyuuranger. The Red-Blue “rivalry”, Silver learning the meaning of friendship, Pink joining the team. Everything happens too fast, but I hope the rest of the series will be better paced.

Oh, and I LOVED that they went to the Snack Safari. The second Sentai from space to go there on their first day on Earth, and a nice reference to Sun Vulcan, proving that this season does acknowledge the previous ones.

Now, let’s get to Kamen Rider Ex-Aid.

A nice episode that hadded some thickness to the background of the series and even talked about all the relevant deaths mentioned throughout the series. However, what I liked the most was that they managed to link the Bugster infection to the Millennium Bug. I loved Go-Busters, but I feel like it was a HUGE missed opportunity to say “the accident happened a few days before the beginning of the year 2000” and NOT mention the millennium bug at all.

I can’t wait to see what will happen next week, and I hope the crossover at the end of the month will be exciting.

See you, next time, here, on the Empty Blog!

Rispondi

